Bill A
Chorley, United Kingdom
Ideal for our family group

Left on Aug 29, 2017 for a stay in Aug 2017
We needed a holiday location for 4 days, 11 family members aged 12-70, and convenient for visiting by 3 Hampshire family members. We booked Medstead Lodge for five of us, four keen campers brought their own tent and two hired a Tipi. Jo saw us arrive, and showed us round with evident pride – she was always very helpful and friendly, and informative but never intrusive. The weather was mixed, improving at the end. Despite this, the chalk soil drained remarkably quickly and the tent pitches stayed dry. Our campers commented on the outstanding shower and toilet blocks. Medstead Lodge was beautifully appointed and equipped with oak furniture, plenty of seating, all mod cons for easy comfortable living and entertainment; it was immaculately clean. The site was very quiet at night and we slept well. Easy safe access to Ropley Station including after the working day was a bonus as were the friendly railway staff. It was the Thomas weekend with many happy and excited children at Watercress who were very well behaved; there were four engines in steam in office hours. (The daughters who booked were not unaware of my interest in steam). We wandered around pleasant Alton, useful for shopping and an enjoyable Italian meal out for 14, meandered through fields to Ropley cricket and football ground where one goal with nets enabled Attack v Defence for 5 of us. We visited West Wittering beach (again) on the best day with its huge vistas and vast parking space, about an hour on the back roads from Watercress L. If circumstances permit, I would love to come back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

William Almond


We’ve stayed at the campsite a few times now and love it here. We’ll be back – definitely! The campsite is in a great location for the watercress line, and is very well looked after and kept to a high standard. We’ve found the owner / manager to be very friendly and accommodating. We highly recommend this campsite.

Neil Meir


A hidden gem

Left on Apr 25, 2016 for a stay in Apr 2016
What’s not to like about Watercress Lodges? They are positioned right next to the Ropley station of the Watercress Line, they are clean, and very well equipped. Plenty of places to walk in the area and some lodges are dog friendly. Convenient location-Alresford is a few minutes away, Alton and Winchester close as well. Would not hesitate to recommend.

T


Glamping at it’s best!

Left on Jan 6, 2016 for a stay in Dec 2015
We stayed in the Safari tents for two nights over New Year and despite the terrible weather, had a fabulous time. Jo has thought of absolutely everything you need for your camping experience, but this isn’t just camping….her personal touches and great eye for detail make this true glamping! We will definitely book again, next time in the summer and although it will be a shame not to light the log burner, there is a huge firepit bbq to try out…..I can’t wait!G


“Beautiful setting for a lovely accommodation”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago for a stay in September 2015 NEW
Our company conducted a survey in the local area and this is where we stayed, sort of a birthday present from my boss.
On arrival we were pleased to find a lovely warm, clean lodge waiting for us. A sign my boss still likes us.
All the facilities were excellent and the bed was great, but never mind that. its adjacent to the mid-hants steam railway line! so you can wake up to a glimpse of our transport heritage without having to set foot out the door.
would be an excellent place for young children/ train enthusiasts.
walkers might be pleased to note that the altitude of the site provides good views and fresh air right from the get go.

5 of 5 starsDirections to the property 5 of 5 starsKey pickup/access to the property
5 of 5 starsOverall condition 5 of 5 starsQuality of bedding/mattresses
5 of 5 starsKitchen/utensils quality 5 of 5 starsCleanliness of bathroom
5 of 5 starsQuality of facilities/amenities 5 of 5 starsService
Liked best: the railway next door and the sunset over the hill behind the lodges
Liked least: how much it rained
Travelling group: Friends
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend? Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
I recommend the location. The property provided wifi/internet access.Be


“Wonderful Accommodation”
5 of 5 starsReviewed today for a stay in July 2015 NEW
This was a last minute find, and what a find it was! Set in peaceful countryside, the accommodation is amazing. The kids loved the steam railway at the bottom of the garden. We actually stayed here for 18 days because we were relocating from the US (as were two other neighbours). So if you need temporary furnished accommodation, this is excellent. The facilities (e.g. the kitchen, bathroom etc.) were all to a high standard. I have no doubt that this would also be great for a shorter, holiday stay. Helpful, friendly owners. Highly recommended.

5 of 5 starsEase of booking 4 of 5 starsDirections to the property
5 of 5 starsKey pickup/access to the property 5 of 5 starsOverall condition
5 of 5 starsQuality of bedding/mattresses 5 of 5 starsKitchen/utensils quality
5 of 5 starsCleanliness of bathroom 5 of 5 starsQuality of facilities/amenities
5 of 5 starsService
Traveling group: Young Children
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend? Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
The property was “as advertised”. I recommend the location. The property was a good value for the price paid. The property provided wifi/internet access. My security deposit was returned on time.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nick Finnie


Back home after our fabulous stay in ropley lodge. This has been one of our best holidays ever! The lodge was so clean and new looking and everything was spotless! I am really fussy about where we stay and about cleanliness and your place was exceptional- well done to you. All facilities we needed where on hand. I will certainly be giving you a great review on trip advisor and will be recommending you to others I know who holiday in England. Being sooo close to the steam trains was just brilliant and I couldn’t believe on the last day when the driver offered us the opportunity to drive with him up front to Alesford- on the way he let me drive the train!! I was as excited as the boys! I know on your website you do try to say how close the lodges are to the line but it really is something you have to actually experience to realise how close you are!

 

Moles family

Moles


Summary: Excellent! one of best sites we`ve been to, can`t wait to go again!
Overall: 10 / 10
Location: 10 / 10
Value for Money: 10 / 10
Quality of Accommodation: None given
Facilities/Activities: 10 / 10
Customer Service: 10 / 10
Child Friendliness: 10 / 10
Cleanliness: 10 / 10
Wifi: None given

Liked:
I choose this site initialy due to location to break up our journey from where we live in the midlands to portsmouth, as needed to attend an open day at portsmouth uni. with my son who will finish A-levels next year.He is also train mad so wanted to stay here as by the railway.For the first time ever in 16yrs, i had no trouble getting him out of bed! He couldn`t wait to get back down the station and once/every time he heard a train, he was gone!! He absolutly loved it camped opposite the station and able to walk to and from tent & railway, and combined with a day in portsmouth we had a fantastic weekend. The site had excellent facities, toilet/showers were spacious and clean, and staff were lovely, friendly and very welcoming. There is nothing to dislike and we are planning when we can go again!

Disliked:
Nothing!

Would they recommend this to a friend? yes
Would they stay here again? yes

Pitchup.com user name: None
Travelling as: Family with older children
Date of stay: Jul 2015
Booked via Pitchup.com: Yes Pitchup.com booking ID: SGT6V40V
Pitchup.com booking date/time/name: 2015-06-20 11:16:06.502373+00:00: SGT6V40V ENGLEY
To respond to the review, you can add a comment or dispute it at https://www.pitchup.com/supplier2/campsite/watercress-lodges-campsite/reviews/.

You now have 37 reviews on Pitchup.com. Your overall rating below does not include the new review above, and will be updated shortly. If any scores below are 0 then your site has not yet been rated on those factors. The overall review score will only appear at the top of your listing and in search results once you have reached 5 reviews.
Overall: 5 / 5
Location: 5 / 5
Value for Money: 4 / 5
Quality of Accommodation: 5 / 5
Facilities/Activities: 5 / 5
Customer Service: 4 / 5
Child Friendliness: 4 / 5
Cleanliness: 5 / 5


“My son and I recently stayed in one of the large Tipi tents and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. This was totally different to what we are used to being avid motorhomers. The location and surroundings of the site are amazing for countryside, wildlife and is local to both a great brasserie pub and of course The Watercress line. With immaculate landscaping and superb shower facilities I would definitely give a 10/10 and recommend a visit”.
Kelvin & Jamie storey

Kelvin Storey


“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in one of the Watercress lodges over the spring bank holiday week. For a Southern Railway nut like me the site is very hard to beat and the girls (aged 2 to 7) loved it too. The lodge was very comfortable and well appointed with welcome extras including a pint of milk to go with the coffee, which was most welcome after a long trip. We enjoyed the week so much that we’ve booked again for next year, and two of my daughters have also booked lodges for the same week.”

Regards,

Mike

Mike Tattum